Established in as an intergovernmental initiative between the European Union founding Members, the Schengen Area removed physical and economic borders restrictions between countries in Europe. The freedom of movement together with the suppression of international trade fees led to the creation of the biggest internal market in the world. A single, European market that connects the economies not only of the EU members and also creates a community of around million people. There are 26 Member States in the Schengen area. Czech Republic.

Author:Magami Zulkim
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):24 May 2019
PDF File Size:8.12 Mb
ePub File Size:4.89 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

The Schengen acquis - Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement of 14 June between the Governments of the States of the Benelux Economic Union, the Federal Republic of Germany and the French Republic on the gradual abolition of checks at their common borders. OJ L , In force. Avis juridique important. As fronteiras internas podem ser transpostas em qualquer local sem que o controlo das pessoas seja efectuado.

O disposto nos n. O disposto no n. O visto uniforme previsto no n. Se uma parte contratante for informada de factos a que se refere o n. Se uma parte contratante se encarregou do tratamento de um pedido de asilo nos termos do n. Todavia, o disposto no n. Sempre que, nos termos dos artigos O grupo de trabalho a que se refere o n.

As medidas a tomar pela parte contratante que encontrou o objecto devem estar em conformidade com o seu direito nacional. Todavia, os dados inseridos nos termos do artigo Se o direito nacional assim o estabelecer, a autoridade nacional de controlo, prevista no n. O artigo Skip to main content.

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website. EU case-law Case-law Digital reports Directory of case-law. Quick search. Need more search options? Use the Advanced search. Help Print this page. Expand all Collapse all. Title and reference. Languages, formats and link to OJ. Official Journal. Multilingual display. Artigo 4. Artigo 5. Artigo 6. Artigo 7. Artigo 8. Artigo O visto previsto no artigo Os agentes a que se referem os n.

A autoridade a que se referem os n. Madeira de: Castanea Quercus 4. Sementes 6.


Schengen: Controversial EU free movement deal explained

It was signed on 14 June , near the town of Schengen, Luxembourg , by five of the ten member states of the then European Economic Community. It proposed measures intended to gradually abolish border checks at the signatories' common borders, including reduced-speed vehicle checks which allowed vehicles to cross borders without stopping, allowing residents in border areas freedom to cross borders away from fixed checkpoints, and the harmonisation of visa policies. In , the Agreement was supplemented by the Schengen Convention which proposed the complete abolition of systematic internal border controls and a common visa policy. The Schengen Area operates very much like a single state for international travel purposes with external border controls for travellers entering and exiting the area, and common visas, but with no internal border controls.


EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

It enables its holder to enter, freely travel within, and leave the Schengen zone from any of the Schengen member countries. There are no border controls within the Schengen Zone. All nationals of third countries, which have yet not reached a visa-liberalization agreement with the Schengen member states, need to obtain a visa prior of their arrival in Europe. Please, make sure that the border officer gives you an entry stamp in your passport when you enter the Schengen area. Without a stamp, you could be fined or detained. The Schengen zone includes the 26 countries that have signed the Schengen agreement , which allows citizens of member countries to travel within the zone freely, without passing through passport and border control. You do not need a national visa issued from these countries to enter, transit or stay in their territory temporarily.


Schengen Agreement

Schengen Area , signifies a zone where 26 European countries, abolished their internal borders, for the free and unrestricted movement of people, in harmony with common rules for controlling external borders and fighting criminality by strengthening the common judicial system and police cooperation. Currently, Schengen Area consists of 26 member countries. All of these countries are located in Europe, from which:. The area counts hundreds of airports and maritime ports, many land crossing points, an area of 4,, km2, and a population of ,, citizens.


Schengen Area – The World’s Largest Visa Free Zone

Freedom of movement has been a part of the European project since the s. Yet Europe's borderless zone only really began to become a reality in , when several members of the EU, including France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, met in a village in Luxembourg called Schengen to sign an agreement to eliminate all internal border controls. This "Schengen agreement", which came into effect in , eliminated border checks among its members and allowed foreign visitors to travel throughout the area using one visa. Today a total of 26 states, both within or outside the EU, are members see map. Two forces are pulling Europe apart. In the summer of an unprecedented number of migrants have arrived on Europe's shores.

Related Articles